What turning 30 means to me…

I’ve realized I need to write shorter posts….so here is my roundup of thoughts regarding turning 30:

I’m more comfortable in my skin than I ever have been.  I’ve accepted the fact that I’m pale as pale can be and have embraced the paleness that is my Irish self…..so I wear skirts, and shorts, and lots’o’sunscreen.  Take that girl on the bus in 7th grade who made fun of my pale legs!

Pansy Skirt

This isn’t me- just a pretty pale model. I love seeing pale girls in modeling now!   Source:  Shabby Apple

 

I. Finally. Love. My. Hair.  I know how to fix it- straight, curly, up, down.

I have my own sense of style and don’t feel the need for Hollywood to define my style.

I know longer feel guilty when people admire an outfit because I put thought and effort in to styling myself.  I silently accept the positive attention and remind myself that there is nothing wrong with making myself feel good about what I see in the mirror.  I do it for me and no one else.  This has been difficult for my introvert self.

I’m more self aware than I ever have been.  I don’t mind admitting that I’m cranky or tired or flat out pissed about something.  I can apologize and mean it.  I don’t always need to be right.  The only one I need to prove anything to is myself (and occasionally my husband)!

I will eventually lose the baby weight…will probably never lose the stretch marks or little baby pouch.  I will rock a vintage inspired one piece or tankini instead.  I only accepted this after having Little R.

Shop Shabby Apple for retro swimwear for women. We offer a great selection of vintage-inspired swimwear and other stylish clothes for women.

Love Shabby Apple’s Vintage Inspired Swimwear!

I’m happy in my marriage and feel sorry for women who aren’t.  I don’t feel sorry for women who aren’t willing to work at it or who think a relationship should just magically be perfect.

I understand that men are not perfect, are not mind readers, and aren’t all that complicated.  Women on the other hand, really put these guys through the ringer.

I absolutely love being a mom….but it is not the only person I am.

I’m able to be thankful and proud and humble at the same time.

I was much more stressed and freaked out about turning 25 (that’s like a whole quarter of a century you know!)

I know I still have things to work on- like sticking to a budget and paying off debt, not overextending and over-committing myself, taking time to take care of me.

I need to be better at accepting compliments.

I need to be less of a perfectionist.

I’m one of the most impatient people on the planet (between me and CG- I think we’ve got impatience covered).

I still have goals…and lots of them.

But if I didn’t I’d be awfully bored!

The journey is what creates Happyness!

~M

Under 500 words- not so bad huh?

Shared at some of these parties!

8 responses to “What turning 30 means to me…

  1. Love. I will be turning 30 in 2014 and I’m finding myself becoming more comfortable in my own skin as well. It’s not so bad 🙂
    Heidi @ handmadefrenzy.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Heidi! I’m glad I’m not the only one! So many make turning 30 such a big deal and it’s good knowing that not all twenty something’s feel that way. Love your blog! I will be following!

  2. This is an AMAZING post! I am 33 now….and just coming into my own. I am a mother of 5 and recently shifted from a career driven person to a work from home mom….Its amazing that everything I thought at 18 was totally not true! Congrats for hitting the big 30!!! Can’t wait to hear more about what you love! And how the heck did you figure out your hair –I will never figure mine out!!!! Tips please

    • Thanks Heather! I agree that things change so much from what we thought at 18! All of those “when you have kids…” cliches really are true aren’t they? I can’t imagine having five kids! Well I suppose we technically have 4, but I didn’t birth my sisters- and cant imagine going through all that again!
      As for my hair, I only wash it 2-3 times a week and have learned the art of not over styling/ using too many products. And I’m officially in love with the Garnier Fructis line! My schedule is something like this: wash and wear natural one day, then curly or low messy bun the next, then flat iron the next day and then pulled up in a sleek pony the fourth day. I use baby powder between in my roots if I need to. Maybe I should do a series of posts on my hair routine! Thanks so much for visiting! I hope you have a great week!

    • Thank you so much! I, too am excited about how my perspective will grow and change as I get older. Thanks so much for visiting and I’d be honored to share at your Show & Tell! Linking up now!

Leave a Reply

