Banister Makeover DIY- Intro and Sneak Peek!

So it took me a whole 24 hours to realize that I initially spelled “peek” wrong, in the photo edits (which I am honestly too tired to fix) and in the title and twice in the body….and yes, I am college educated- I blame it on exhaustion 🙂  And now…on to the Sneak Peek!

We have a TON of stairs in our house….seriously.  I think we trek up 35 or so from the garage to the main living area in our “stacked town.”  A stacked town is just a really fancy way of saying we have a two story condo with a garage- and because our unit encompasses the 3rd/4th building floors that means we get an AMAAAAAZING workout when we carry up the groceries….or the kids…yep…it was spectacular when I was 38 weeks preggo- I had to stop and take breaks to breathe.

Anyway, our builder-grade condo came with builder-grade Carpeting!!! on ALL of the stairs.

See the carpeting?  That crap was all over the whole house!  It killed my Dyson- literally!

See the carpeting? That crap was all over the whole house! It killed my Dyson- literally!  See the pretty floors I replaced it with?!

We put up with that vacuuming nightmare for about a year before I enlisted the help of my dear Dad to rip the carpet out of the main level and the stairs leading up to it and replace it with very pretty high end but budget friendly tropical darkwood laminate (dogs, kids, heels people!=laminate=no scratched up floor two weeks after installation!)

And I assure you that this project had absolutely nothing to do with the fact that H was overseas at a warzone and I was pregnant and nesting like a hen whose about to hatch eggs.  Neither did the repainting-the-whole-house-project or the ripping-out-my-closet-shelves-and-installing-custom-ikea-shelving-at-all-hours-of-the-night-project.  My poor neighbors- apparently this is what creative DIY women do when they are nesting.

Anyway- I digress- on a fluke we discovered that we could do the stairs, so we thought it would look really nice with white paneled risers:

Told you we had a lot of stairs...I've dubbed this the Stairwell to Heaven.

Told you we had a lot of stairs…I’ve dubbed this the Stairwell to Heaven.

DSC00442

A better view of the paneled risers. I think it gives the stairs a clean cottage-y feel!

By now you should see the dilemma we’ve been in since- the banisters look downright gross next to those floors!  And I’m ashamed to say that- one year in Afghanistan (H), a stint in Nairobi (again H), a high school graduation, an off to college move, two pregnancies and two babies later- we still have not even touched the banisters.  So now I’ve finally begun working on them- except its taking a little bit of time because, well, let’s face it babies don’t operate on your DIY schedule, or any other schedule for that matter.

I’ve been working on it in phases, but I’m determined to get it done this upcoming week.  We have family coming in to town and I just need to have something DIY and house related finished.  So I’m looking to my readers to keep me accountable and showing you a Sneak Peek with a promise that a full account of the methods, steps, calamities and hilarity that involved this project will be posted in the next week or two!  I think I’ll try Abby’s advice here and take a stab at time blocking to get it all done!

Okay…now for the sneak peek:

DSC00444

Sorry for the fuzzy photo- it is daaark in that stairwell!

Sneak peak

Remember….it’s NOT finished yet!

Love and Happyness to all!

~M

I sometimes link up at these parties!

Happily shared at Remodelholic

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 responses to “Banister Makeover DIY- Intro and Sneak Peek!

    • Thanks Lisa! It’s great getting that carpet out of there isn’t it? I got about 2/3 done before my in-laws came in to town. This week I’m going for the gold!

      Have a great week and thanks for co-hosting Best of the Weekend!

  1. Pingback: Banister Makeovers: What You Can Do for a Simple but Sweet Change | Decozilla·

Leave a Reply

