Happyness Is NOT Perfection…

Road to Happyness Title

…no matter how hard you try.  Sometimes the thing that is supposed to support your road to Happyness is the very thing that can hinder it here and there.  Practical Happyness is supposed to be my outlet and my stress reliever.  It is, or is supposed to be- a gathering of my thoughts on marriage, parenting, motherhood and womanhood, with a hefty dash of humor and sarcasm, a sprinkle of DIY projects and crafting.

And then there’s that damn stats bar graph to my upper left hand corner.  I had a momentous and proud moment this past week- my blog hit over 1,000 site views.  It means that someone out there has felt compelled to click on my link shares on parties and blog hops that I’ve participated in.  It means that at least a handful of people have been interested in what I have to say on my little blog!  I was riding on cloud nine until my little Happyness bubble burst when I saw that some of the blogs I avidly follow have upwards of 30,000 posts a month, one of the 90,000!  Instantly my mind went in to research mode-  What can I do to get more hits?  I need to post more often.  I need to revamp my design.  I need to buy my domain name and become a {dot}com.  I need to be a part of more networks.  I need to take better pictures.  I need to post more projects.  Suddenly my blog to do list became as long as my house to do list that is plastered on a wall in the kitchen.  Such is the life of an introverted type-A perfectionist like myself.  CG would agree wholeheartedly I think.

My crazy home to do list...

My crazy home to do list…

And of course when this happens, I get a good case of don’t-know-what-to-write-about followed by an epidemic of crazy-long-exhausting-kids-work-family-week.  I have 15 draft posts that I’ve titled because I come up with ideas and create the draft with the title so I can come back to them later.  So far I only have done ONE of those because most of them are related to ongoing projects in the house.  The other night I was sitting at the kitchen table trying to cram in a post after agonizingly trying to master the new theme {I hope you all like it!} I selected and figure out social media buttons- all with a cranky teething reflux-y baby fussing in his swing and a toddler running around ordering me to “go sit in the chair NOW!”

HALT RIGHT THERE!  It was in this moment that I realized I had gone down the road I said I wouldn’t….I had been sucked up in to the frenzied world of mom blogging.   I have fallen head first in to the mom blog rabbit hole.  My online journal of love had turned in to another job.  And I already have three jobs- wife, mother and my real world full time gig that helps put food on the table.  My priorities had gone out of alignment again.  They needed a chiropractic adjustment.  Little P was yelling at me to sit in the chair in the corner of his room.  He does this when he just wants company.  He doesn’t want us to play with him, he just wants us to sit and watch.  I sometimes grab a glass of wine and use it as my time to decompress.  I’ll sit Little R in his bouncer next to the chair, enjoy my wine and drink in the wonderment of my eldest son’s imagination.  I was trying to remember the last time I did that…and couldn’t.

Thank you, Lord.  I needed that pan-over-the-head reminder of what’s important in life.  

I see this as a teaching moment in Happyness.  I AM good enough.  I can’t be perfect and I can’t work four jobs.  A once-a-week post will have to do for now.  And I’ll share it when I can.  Link parties are not as important as a dance party in my son’s room.   Impeccably documented DIY projects are not as important as doing an art project with my boys.   Mastering widgets is not as important as consoling Little R when he’s having a rough evening.  {Before anyone jumps to conclusions- he wasn’t screaming or anything, he was just not a very happy camper at the moment}  Reorganizing my linen closet or kitchen for the blog is not as important-or as FUN- as getting outside with my family!

I’m vowing to remind myself that this blogging thing should be FUN and INSPIRATIONAL.  I don’t have to live up to anyone else’s stats.  Through Practical Happyness I want to be an example of how a mom can balance work, marriage, motherhood and hobbies and maintain her Happyness.  Which means making sure I take care of the family, my work, and myself.

So there you have it- my little lesson in Happyness for the week!

How do you like the new design?  And how do you stellar mom bloggers balance your blogging time with all your other duties?

Thanks so much for visiting!  Love and Happyness to All!

~M

Just to prove I do indeed have happy little ones!

Just to prove I do indeed have happy little ones!

I happily share at these parties!

Leave a Reply

