Quick and Easy Breakfast Boats…and an almost fail

Title

Inspired by dinnerordessert as found on Once a Month Mom.

Sarah at the new daycare (read more about that here) is someone to admire when it comes to super mom-dom.  She has five of her own kids, runs an in home daycare with 6 little ones during the day (5 of which are boys between 6 months and 4 years!), and has taken on the daunting challenge of once a month cooking (OAMC in the circles of the knowing) for the whole house!  Seriously, ya’ll, she’s a mom-fu master, in my humble opinion.

Anyway- she introduced me to OAMC and I’ve been dabbling with the recipes to see if it’s something I’m interested in trying.  I’m easing myself in though- preparing double meals a few nights a week and freezing one.  What interests me most, however, are the breakfasts, lunches and baby foods- because that’s where we dump most of our moolah.

And then I found something magical at our farmer’s market on Saturday:  fresh challah baguettes!  I love challah- but have not entered the foire of attempting to make it myself.  The best I’ve ever had was, naturally, made by the Jewish grandmother of the girl I nannied in college.  But, alas, I had to settle for the fresh baked baguettes at the farmer’s market – which were tatsty, but did not hold a candle to that grandma’s!  *Sigh*

Breakfast Boats

1 bag of baguettes (there were 6 HUGE baguettes in mine)
1 dozen eggs
1 lb sausage
3/4 cup half and half
1 bag shredded cheddar cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350.  Start cooking the sausage over medium heat.  Meanwhile, cut out your baguettes- scoop the bread out of the middle leaving enough all around to hold the egg mixture (think Panera bread bowl).  Line them up on a baking sheet.

I really crumbled the sausage as it cooked- like you do with hamburger for spaghetti sauce.  In a large bowl crack all the eggs, add the half and half.  Whisk together well.  Add cheese, reserving a couple handfuls for topping.  Mix in cooked sausage.  Ladle in to baguettes.  Each of mine had about a ladle and a half.  Bake for 30-40 minutes or until set.  (Time will vary- mine took longer than the original recipe- I think because the baguettes were huge and I filled them a lot!)

Here is where I will give you a warning:  Are you one of those people who likes to line things with foil to have less mess?  Well, I am.  And I did.  And. It. Was. Bad.  After 20 minutes in the oven they were not cooking on top and were overcooking on the bottom and sticking to the foil.  I had to pull them out, do some emergency surgery, carefully pulling them off and replacing on the cookie sheet.  Disaster averted.

DSC00502

When done sprinkle with cheese and melt.  Serve right away.  Makes six LARGE boats.  For smaller baguettes you would just make more or adjust the recipe as needed.  

DSC00503

Yum!

I think these would be great in a bunch of different ways:  ham and swiss with some tomato and garlic, bacon and peppers and cayenne for a southwest twist, or just egg whites, cheese and veggies for healthier variety.

I can officially vouch that this was completely toddler approved (and I have one picky toddler, let me tell you)!

Happy little man!

Happy little man!

Last:  what did I do with all that extra bread?

Waste not, want not!

Waste not, want not!

Well made blueberry bread pudding of course!

Happyness eating to all!

~M

I happily share at these parties!

7 responses to “Quick and Easy Breakfast Boats…and an almost fail

  1. Thanks for linking up to us. Glad you enjoyed them! We do have a few breakfast only mini menus that might help you stock up the freezer. 🙂

  2. Pingback: BLUEberry Bread Pudding | Practical Happyness·

    • Thanks! It was a fun breakfast- and the few extras lasted the week for H. Much better than cold cereal! Linking up now 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

