BOLD DIY Nursery Wall Art

Title button
WOW!  I just looked at the calendar and today marks exactly 4 months since my last post.  As some of you know, H has been out of the country doing is duty, and I was single-parenting through the holidays!  I’ve missed my blog friends, and I’ve neglected Practical Happyness while making it through the last few months.  I’m not gonna lie, it was extremely difficult, the days blurred together in this seemingly mix of cuddles, messes, tantrums and commuting.  Every day was 8,000 hours long, with too little time to sleep, and so many milestones hit I couldn’t keep track of them all.  I often wondered if I’d ever get to do another blog post, or take a shower in silence for that matter!  If I could figure out a way to telepathically post while driving to and from work and daycare, then I would’ve been the blogging queen!

Also, today is when Abby over at Just a Girl and Her Blog announced her Be Bold Challenge, and this little project was the perfect fit!  I’ve been dying to participate in the her co-hosted weekly party so it must have been fate!

Anyway, I’m glad to have H back, and so thrilled to be back here!  To kick off the new year, I’m sharing a little craft that I did for Little R’s room makeover (which I’ll share later, I promise!).   It was super simple, and cost all of $20, and I ended up with a room full of beautiful pieces of framed art! First, I started with an array of patterned scrap-booking paper:

20140224-124559.jpg

Then I printed out animal silhouettes.  I copied them in to word so I could size them to my frames.   After I cut them out, I paired the paper the way I wanted it.  This was probably the hardest part because I knew I wanted pattern on pattern in the frames, for visual interest and to spark the curiosity of Little R.  The theme of his room is bold color, with a gray and yellow paint scheme, so I wanted to find a tasteful way to display that without it being overwhelming.

20140224-124616.jpg

And after many minutes of tracing and cutting, I used double sided tape to hold the animals in place.  At the last minutes I decided to label them with permanent marker.  The first one I did was a buffalo in blue stripes over old fashioned handwriting:

20140224-124630.jpg

And a Fawn and Sparrow:

20140224-124643.jpg

And a poka-dot Lion!

20140224-192146.jpg

And of course, a Fox:

20140224-124657.jpg

The colored frames are the NYTTJA frames from Ikea.  We had purchased them several years ago for my sisters room.   They are still a fantastic deal at 3.99 for a set of two!

Finally, I did something very similar for two larger 12 x 12 frames, which I found at Hobby Lobby on sale for $4 each!  An Elephant and Bear seemed just perfect…both large beautiful animals, but from different regions of the world.  They both are just like my Little R- strong, sensitive, intuitive, introverted.   I layered a patterned filigree paper over a solid, and then chose a yellow and gray pattern for the silhouette.  I kept the layering theme for both frames so they looked like a matching/not-matching pair 🙂

20140224-192137.jpg

20140224-192057.jpg

Well what do ya’ll think?  What sort of crafts have you done for your little one’s digs?  Keep a look out for the big room reveal sometime in the next few days!  Love & Happyness to All!

~M

I sometimes share at these parties!

Leave a Reply

